Patients’ Charter

List of Registrants

What is a clinical psychologist?

A Clinical Psychologist is a professional practicing an area of applied psychology. Clinical Psychologists adopt an evidence-based approach to promote psychological well-being and address psychological problems, which include a wide range of developmental, emotional, behavioral and mental disorders with varied severity and complexity.

Clinical Psychologists work in a variety of settings which include, but not limited to hospitals, government agencies, non-governmental organizations, tertiary education institutions and private practice. They work for the benefit of service recipients across the lifespan and with diverse backgrounds, both directly and indirectly.

How can a clinical psychologist help?

A clinical psychologist helps promote psychological well-being and address psychological problems of the public. The goal will be pursued through direct and indirect clinical services and in collaboration with other healthcare professionals where applicable.

  1. Direct clinical services, usually in the form of assessment and intervention, are rendered to people suffering from psychological problems that impaired their functioning in different aspects of life. Clinical Psychologists utilize psychological models to guide professional practice including assessment and diagnosis of neurodevelopmental disorders, adjustment to changes, risk of self-injurious behaviors, neurocognitive functioning, psychopathologies and other relevant psychological problems.
  2. Indirect clinical psychology services, usually in the form of skill and knowledge transfer, are provided through collaboration with other healthcare professionals and service providers. The general public would benefit directly from public talks and workshops conducted by Clinical Psychologists, and indirectly from policies and programmes developed to raise mental health awareness.
  • Prevention, Promotion and Advocacy
    • Clinical Psychologists supply and disseminate psychoeducational information regarding psychological well-being, identification and management of various psychological disorders.
    • Clinical Psychologists participate in the development of mental health policy to increase public awareness of the impact of different mental disorders and related social problems, including stigmatization.
  • Education and Research
    • Clinical Psychologists participate in professional training programmes, research activities, conventions and seminars for continuous professional development. They also provide training and development of programmes for fellow clinical psychologists or other healthcare professionals. They deliver clinical psychology-related knowledge and training to students in academic institutions.
    • Clinical Psychologists also provide on-site supervision to clinical psychology trainees in order to enable them to acquire the clinical skills necessary for attaining a satisfactory level of professional competence.
    • Clinical Psychologists conduct research to further the development of knowledge and practice in mental health-related issues. They evaluate and synthesize scientific evidence to improve practice. They design, implement and report empirical studies in the field of clinical psychology.
  • Consultation
    • Clinical Psychologists offer advice on treatment to other healthcare professionals that meet the needs of service recipients based on psychological theories and research findings.

病人約章

認可臨床心理學家名冊

什麼是臨床心理學家?

臨床心理學家是應用心理學領域的專業人士。臨床心理學家採用實證方法促進心理健康並解決心理問題,當中包括不同嚴重程度和複雜性的發展、情感、行為和精神障礙。

臨床心理學家的工作環境多種多樣,包括但不限於醫院、政府機構、非政府組織、高等教育機構和私人執業場所。他們直接和間接地為幫助不同年齡和背景的服務對象而工作。

臨床心理學家如何提供幫助?

臨床心理學家能促進大眾心理健康及解決心理問題。他們通過直接和間接的臨床心理服務,以及在有需要時與其他專業醫護人員合作來實現目標。

  1. 直接的臨床心理服務一般指心理評估和治療,對象是被心理問題困擾而導致生活各方面能力受損的人士。臨床心理學家應用心理學模型進行專業工作,包括評估和診斷腦神經發展障礙、適應改變的問題、自殘行為的風險、腦神經認知功能、心理病患和其他相關的心理問題。
  2. 間接的臨床心理服務形式一般為技能和知識傳授,並通過與其他專業醫護人員和服務提供者合作提供。普羅大眾能直接受益於臨床心理學家進行的公開演講和研討會,並間接受益於為提高心理健康意識而制定的政策和計劃。
  • 預防、宣傳和倡議
    • 臨床心理學家提供並宣傳有關心理健康、識別和治療各種心理障礙的心理教育資訊。
    • 臨床心理學家參與制定精神健康政策,以加強公眾認識各種精神障礙和相關社會問題的影響(包括污名化)。
  • 教育與研究
    • 臨床心理學家會參加專業培訓計劃、研究活動、會議和研討會,以實現持續專業發展。除了為其他臨床心理學家和專業醫護人員提供培訓及制定培訓計劃外,亦向各學術機構的學生傳授與臨床心理學相關的知識及提供培訓。
    • 臨床心理學家會向實習生提供現場督導,讓他們獲得必要的臨床技巧,培養出令人滿意的專業能力。
    • 臨床心理學家會進行研究,以推進與心理健康相關的知識和執業手法的發展。除了評估並整合科學證據以改善執業方法外,亦會設計、進行及彙報臨床心理學領域的實證研究。
  • 諮詢
    • 臨床心理學家根據心理學理論和研究發現,向其他專業醫護人員提供治療建議,以滿足服務對象的需要。